New Literacies and Screencast o’matic

Day 4’s challenge today was to make an explanation, a how-to, for our students to monitor themselves while searching online–while using a new literacy strategy. Since I work with ELL students in Grade 5, I figured I should start simple and very basic, but keep the strategy extremely useful for what they need. I decided to show my think-aloud about how to select precise/helpful vocabulary to complete an online topic search. The tool I used is Screencast o’matic but there are several others out there that may do the same thing, record voice and the display the activity on the screen.

My students will be asked to give an oral presentation this coming winter about some aspect of Japanese culture that intrigues them while we read Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes. Here is my think-aloud about finding information on Japanese Kokeshi Dolls.

Leave a Reply

